- One Project Closer - http://www.oneprojectcloser.com -

Pumpkin Carving and Decorating!

Posted By Jocie On October 8, 2013 @ 7:00 am In Holiday & Parties,The Better Half | 9 Comments

Halloween is coming and fall is here, so what’s better than a little pumpkin carving and decorating?! 

PumpkinCarving Ideas from One Project Closer

Pumpkin Carving Ideas

Every year some friends host a pumpkin carving contest (sadly, not this year, since she is scheduled to give birth 2 days before Halloween). They gather together a handful of friends and setup teams who have one hour to carve a pumpkin from start to finish. It’s a lot of fun, and if you know me and Ethan, you know that we love competition, plus we love busting out the power tools!

Here were a few from the past couple years:

This was mine…no, we didn’t win. I felt a bit robbed. Even the “burger bun” is a pumpkin. Pretty sweet right?

Burger Pumpkin from One Project Closer

Right after Batman (you know the one with Christian Bale, forever the cutest Newsie) came out, we made this Joker pumpkin!

Joker Pumpkin

Owl and Spider Pumpkin

Owl and Spider Pumpkin from One Project Closer

Pirate Pumpkin – aye aye matey!

Pirate Pumpkin from One Project Closer

Trick or Treat Pumpkin

trick or treat Pumpkin

Angry birds pumpkin – this was one of Ethan’s

Honorable mention goes to the team that created the alien bursting from the chest pumpkin. We girls were pretty grossed out but they definitely get points for the creativity.

Pumpkin Decorating Ideas

So, if you like you pumpkins pretty, painted, or you don’t like to bust out the power tools, here are a few ideas from my friends around the web. If you love them as much as I do, please click through and pin from the original source! xoxo

pumpkin painting and decorating ideas from One Project Closer

Gold Stemmed Pumpkin [1]

mini6

Monogram Pumpkin [2]

pumpkinL

Chevron Pumpkin [3]

DSC_0456

Water Color Pumpkin [4]

watercolor_letter_pumpkins_WM

Sparkly Spider Pumpkin [5]

Sparkly-Spider-Pumpkin

Thankful Pumpkin [6]

thankfulpumpkin2

Plastic Bag Pumpkin [7]

Megan2 383

Hand Print Pumpkin [8]

pa180051

Houndstooth Pumpkin [9]

HoundstoothPumpkin-901x1024

Fall Scented Pumpkins [10]

Scented-Pumpkins-480x319

What do you think? What are you favorite pumpkin carving and decorating ideas?

As Always, thanks for reading,

Don’t forget to check us out on Facebook [11] and Pinterest [12]!


Article printed from One Project Closer: http://www.oneprojectcloser.com

URL to article: http://www.oneprojectcloser.com/pumpkin-carving-good-time/

URLs in this post:

[1] Gold Stemmed Pumpkin: http://primitiveandproper.blogspot.com/2013/10/pumpkin-parade-day-1-white-dipped.html

[2] Monogram Pumpkin: http://www.oneartsymama.com/2012/10/monogram-pumpkin.html

[3] Chevron Pumpkin: http://naptimedecorator.blogspot.com/2012/09/girls-craft-night-8-decorating-pumpkins.html

[4] Water Color Pumpkin: http://www.viewalongtheway.com/2013/09/third-times-charm-make-watercolor-letter-pumpkins/

[5] Sparkly Spider Pumpkin: http://www.thediyvillage.com/2012/10/spider-pumpkin.html

[6] Thankful Pumpkin: http://www.oneartsymama.com/2012/11/thankful-pumpkin-tradition.html

[7] Plastic Bag Pumpkin: http://ourpinterestingfamily.blogspot.com/2012/09/plastic-bag-pumpkin.html

[8] Hand Print Pumpkin: http://decorumdiyer.wordpress.com/2012/10/24/paint-my-pumpkin/

[9] Houndstooth Pumpkin: http://dreamsiclesisters.com/posts/houndstooth-pumpkin

[10] Fall Scented Pumpkins: http://practicallyfunctional.com/fall-scented-pumpkins/

[11] Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/OneProjectCloser

[12]  Pinterest: http://pinterest.com/JocieOPC/

Copyright © 2011 One Project Closer. All rights reserved.